Pelican–super awesome experimental metal

pelican.jpg

Oh I am so psyched. Pelican is one of those bands I’ve heard alot about but never actually heard. I heard them on the Hot Snakes similar artists station on last.fm I think. Wow, what a good promotional tool last.fm is, and great for if you’re out of touch with college radio!

Pelican sounds like super dark experimental art metal–kind of like the ever-awesome Godflesh and Neurosis mixed with the pretty parts of the Cure and other stuff. Pelican are AWESOME. I haven’t been so psyched about a band recently as I am about Pelican–I was bemoaning the fact earlier that there were so many experimental punk and metal-based bands in the 80s and 90s but not so much in the 2000s–but Pelican definitely breaks that trend! Here’s their Myspace. This totaly reminds me of listening to college radio in the early 90s when I could always some experimental new band on the radio exploring the boundaries of music.  PELICAN RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

One Response

  1. I prefer Neurosis, Corrupted, Eyehategod, Buzzoven, Grief, Thergothon, dISEMBOWELMENT.

Leave a Reply

