The Day They Packed Up The Vinyl Revisited

This is a day I will never forget.  I was in the Sam Goody at Horton Plaza in downtown San Diego and I saw all the vinyl being packed up in boxes.  This was towards the end of eighth grade, so the date was June 1990.  I guess there is some significance in that date (ie end of the eighties, here comes grunge all that B(*)(*)JIFDJ).  The fact was the Compact Disc had become the standard with the Cassette being a close second.  Ever since then I have had some fascination with records since they were no longer a mainstream item for sale.  Only dj’s, collectors, or fans of underground music would buy these things.  At the time I did not think much of it and I bought Led Zeppelin IV(or symbols or ZOSO or whatever you want to call it, you know the one with Stairway on it) on cassette.

 Although I was young in the eighties, as far as I know LP records sales were down since about 1985.  Cassette sales were more common.  Although they initially didn’t sound better, they didn’t scratch.  Plus you could put them in your walkman or crank them in your fly dope 1985 Chrysler Le Baron Convertable.  Of course vinyl was still the standard for the single.  I have to note the single as a sales medium died with the advent of the Cassette or CD single.

 As far as I can recall, I didn’t even know about CDs until 1987 when I got into buying music.  It would be three years before I bought my first CD (Depesche Mode Violator).  On a side note I find it amusing that I saw a CNN newsblurb from the early nineties on packaging and selling CD’s and the problems involved.  These were the days of the long boxes.  I can’t believe that nobody thought of just packing them in cellophane. 

 OK so I really am just rambling but the point of this is when will we see the day they box up the CD’s at the mainstream stores (and really this would be end of the straight music chain retailer).  After recently looking for a certain Black Sabbath album (Sabotage to be exact) and being disappointed by Best Buy, Borders, FYE, and Barnes and Noble, I have noticed a significant reduction in volume of CD’s available.  Plus with finally embracingt the  IPOD (and with me being someone that  held on to landlines, dial-up, and of course vinyl longer than anybody of their generation), this is indeed significant.

4 Responses

  1. Hey FiestaRed- Which Ipod do you have? I’ve filled up my 160g Classic. Let’s do a trade! Do you need Deicide albums 1-7?

  2. I got the 80g Classic, I think that can hold your CD’s that start with M. If you got an autograph copy of Morbid Angel’s debut album, then we’ll talk.

  3. Have you guys seen this:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140206309501#description

    e-bay: Winning bid: US $3,002,150.00

    The World’s Greatest Music Collection
    3 Million Records, 300,000 CDs, 6 million+ Song Titles

    “From Thomas Edison to American Idol, this is the complete history of the music that shaped and defined five generations. 3 million records and 300,000 CDs containing more than 6 million song titles. It’s the undisputed largest collection of recorded music in the world. About half of the recordings are new and never played, and every genre of 20th century music is represented. There are countless rare recordings worth hundreds, or even thousands of dollars each on the collectibles market. Organized and cataloged, the collection is meticulously maintained and housed in a climate-controlled warehouse. The estimated value of this amazing collection is more than $50 million.”

  4. Yep, he’s a local guy and it was in the paper, I gave up bidding after 65 dollars.

Leave a Reply

