So, wait, Beirut isn’t Andrew Bird?

Beirut–Elephant Gun

I was in a restaurant listening to some good Andrew Bird songs I had never heard before, when this “Shazam” smartphone application informed me that the band was Beirut, and not Andrew Bird. Um, wait, what? Really? Because…the singing styles and much of the instrumentation are very, very similar. I wonder what they think of each other, since, I’m not sure how many people would be able to tell their singing styles and much of their instrumentation apart on casual listens. I mean…Andrew Bird has more whistling…and Beirut has more horns, I guess? I’m not trying to be snarky or anything, the Beirut songs are very good and I’m definitely going to listen to them more, just, I was really surprised!

Andrew Bird–A Nervous Tic Motion of the Head to the Left

4 Responses

  1. Beirut is more balkan and gypsy-ish, while Bird is more classical and jazzy. Also they have a bit of a ‘french chansons influence’, but it’s in Beirut’s tunes more clear. Indeed andrew whistles more and Beirut has more horns. And Bird doesn’t have such a slightly annoying vibrato on his voice as Beirut does. I prefer Andrew Bird anyway

  2. @callmemarge Andrew Bird has plenty of gypsy in his older stuff like Thrills. I definitely prefer Andrew Bird. I saw him at a gig in Dublin a couple of years back. He signed my albums and accepted my offer of a pint of Guinness in return. Oh yes, I bought him a pint. Can anyone else here say that?

  3. Andrew bird and Beirut are playing together now. I had the same epiphany only I heard Beirut before I heard Andrew bird.

  4. Wow, I came here after hearing Andrew Bird’s “Pulaski at Night” which sounds even more similar to Beirut than “A Nervous Tic Motion of the Head to the Left” does.

Leave a Reply

