My Bloody Valentine’s “Only Shallow” is Based on The Velvet Underground’s “The Ocean”; “Isn’t Anything” versus “Loveless”

For discerning listeners, it’s readily apparent that My Bloody Valentine’s “Only Shallow” is based on Velvet Underground’s “The Ocean”…


Velvet Underground’s “The Ocean”


My Bloody Valentine’s “Only Shallow”

Okay, so what about isn’t anything versus Loveless? I’m an “Isn’t Anything” man myself–there are a lot of “filler” sounding songs to me on Loveless, with only a few standouts (Only Shallow, Soon, etc). Loveless sounds a bit too mishmashy and dated to me–too many synths, drum machine-like sounds, and it’s too Manchestery, like My Bloody Valentine decided it wanted to be kind of rave-y in a kind of dated way. I can see how some people like Loveless better, but for me, songs like Cupid Come, (When You Wake) You’re Still, Sueisfine, Feed Me With Your Kiss, Soft as Snow (But Warm Inside) etc are classic MBV…

Leave a Reply

